Tags

,

Snapshot_004

Stunning Cake

One of Second Life’s favorite events is the annual birthday party. Well organized and attended, the individual builds provide a wealth of creativity that range from thought provoking to spectacular. I will admit that it is the one event that I have the most difficulty with as the graphic demands and my computer are not compatible. Still, I see it as a worthy endeavor that demands my patience and appreciation.

While the music stages seem to attract the most people, I prefer to see the builds and the other artistic elements that come together this event.

After flying away from the musical stages, I headed toward the one build that demanded my attention: The Stunning Cake is the work of Mikati Slade, a digital artist from Japan, who studied classical sculpture and drawing. Her experiences include illustration, 3D, CG and graphic design. I can’t even begin to imagine to size of the digital bit map like birthday cake. It’s on such a large scale that the average avatar looks like an ant up against a single piece of the cake’s candy.

Snapshot_003To best describe the exterior, picture a larger cake on a cardboard covered pink disc with a lace trim. Numerous smaller two layer cakes are arranged around the larger one. They are topped with hearts and trimmed with bunnies, lions and SL hand candies.

Sometimes the best way to learn about a build is to peek inside. How many people really think about that? I know I do. The inner elements could present a mechanical aspect or simply a hidden purpose or treasure. Your curiosity might be the one thing the builder is truly trying to reach. Indeed, this large scale build had a complex arrangement within that could have easily been missed and that would have been a shame.

Snapshot_001

Snapshot_002

Lighting the Way to Autism Awareness

This was the second exhibit that demanded my attention. It was a beautiful way to express how research continues to seek answers that will unlock the mystery of autism. A natural environment is displayed, symbolizing as if we are sitting on the dock fishing for answers that seem close, but not quite within reach. By clicking on the easel, you would have received a folder filled with autism resources. I loved the size of the dock and the outdoor furniture. I think DINGO, owner of Hazardous made them. The water has the deepest blue. I just wanted to sit there all day gazing at the lights on the garden trees and the lily pads.

Snapshot_007Snapshot_010 Snapshot_009

Omagination Art Gallery

Venturing a little further, and a lot higher, I found Omagination Art Gallery organized by Owen Landar. The gallery was ceilingless and featured black walls with windows, which I felt was a perfect arrangement. Minimal structure with interesting angles combined with a lovely play of light imitating a water effect. Dreams appeared to be the central theme.

Owen stated the following:

I believe that dreams are the heart of imagination that is set free from the inhibitions of consciousness. For me the intersection between dreams and awareness is realized on the canvas. This collection of images reflects various incarnations of dreams. I hope you enjoy them, and find yourself inspired to follow your own; let your dreams take you where they will…

The exhibit included art by:

Christie Spad
Katmee Resident
Mirelle Jenvieve
Roy Mildor
Shakti Adored

Snapshot_017The images I saw (what my computer allowed) were: What Dreams May Come by Owen Landar, which appeared to be like an image out of focus. For an abstract, it was warm and inviting. It was something you wished to explore. Each viewer’s perspective may be different, but I felt as it if was a calm pond with flowers upon the water. Similar to what I saw in the autism exhibit, but in abstract form. I also thought of Monet.

Snapshot_018Shakti Adored’s “Little Dreams” captures a fairy tale image. One can easily imagine the castle cloaked in magic, hidden away from other realms. Perhaps the young woman awaits her lover’s return from war. Only then will it be possible to have the family she desires. It was a well balanced composition, possibly two pictures linked to best illustrate the fantasy.

Snapshot_019Katmee Resident’s “Carnival of Broken Dreams” appears to have a playful, art deco look to it. If she’s lost a role in a Broadway play or the rich man of her dreams, she doesn’t seem too concerned about it. The play of light on the right feels like a release, or liberation from a burdensome responsibility.

I’d purchase all of the above for my own collection for each reaches me on a different level and invites me to explore its imagery.

Snapshot_021I also adored the presentation of “Playground of Dreams” by Mirelle Jenvieve. Displayed in a small room, it featured her poem large enough to read, the physical teeter-totter, and a picture of her or another woman sitting on it. I found this a creative way to give a picture dimension. I also sensed lost childhood or loss of a loved one, possibly a sibling.

I plan to visit Omagination gallery very soon.

